Commitment

I’ve been toying with the idea of a 365 day project.

Y’know, the one where you post a picture every day. But I wonder if I’m about to bite off more than I can chew. Not that I haven’t done that before. I’ve always been more of a biter than a chewer and it’s never done any harm. But these days I like to think things through. And this deserves some thinking. Especially since it’s a commitment on several different levels. The first and foremost being the actual photography itself. I’ve seen several 365 projects where most days it’s just random images that have no value – artistic or otherwise. I don’t wanna do that.

I want a project that is deep. Like the evolution of something over 365 days. A year’s worth of growth. And it’s good to know that my photography will also evolve over this period. I’d like to think I’ve built a good foundation. All that remains is to find a subject to build upon; something that can hold my interest for a whole year. Something that will change with me. And help me see the changes it goes through.

Sort of like a new construction. Not entirely unlike this one.

The Building
70mm f/8 at 8″ ISO100

Your Thoughts

