My trials at Product Photography – The Levitating Cup

Earlier today, a photographer buddy of mine suggested levitating subjects. Since he’s an excellent photographer who knows quite a bit of this stuff, I knew he must be right. So I decided to give it a shot.

God bless the man who thought up Photoshop. I don’t think the world would be the same without it! I know there are purists among us who turn their nose up at photoshopping, but I can’t even pretend to give a damn! When we used to be in the film era, it was acceptable to dodge and burn. So why is it any different now? I just love that we can now make beautiful pictures without having to inhale chemicals in a dimly lit room! (uhh.. I’m talking about a darkroom.)

38mm 1/160 at F8

With Text below. I’ve also played around with the levels to give it a newspaper ad kinda look. Does it make it any better?

8 thoughts on “My trials at Product Photography – The Levitating Cup

  1. I agree completely, and have also come to terms with post processing. We modify the actual image just by changing the settings on our camera or applying a different profile. I think it’s all about getting the image you had in your mind’s eye. Great job!

    1. Thank you Gail! Looking the amazing job you do on your pics, I know you understand. I think its ridiculous when people turn their nose up at post processing. But you know what, I learnt something from Strobist. I never say I photoshop my pictures. Always stick to – well these have been processed in the digital darkroom! 😉

Your Thoughts

