My trials at Product Photography – Glass

Strobist.com has been one of my favorite haunts for a long time. If there’s anything you need to learn about lighting, you can find it there. This shot was inspired by one of the posts there.

Before I begin, I’m going to go out on a limb here and proclaim that every amateur photographer should have at least one Pashmeena and a few coasters in his/her kit bag. Read on to find why.

I think lighting Glass is perhaps one of the trickier aspects of DIY product photography. Glass has a tendency to cause glare and reduce contrast if the light source is not positioned right. I wanted to take a cliched product shot and here’s what I came up with.

28mm 1/200 at F8; Flash 1/64 at 50mm with duffuser. In built flash used for fill. Diffused.

Setup:

I told you. Its ridiculously simple.

9 thoughts on “My trials at Product Photography – Glass

Your Thoughts

