My trials at Product Photography – Casio G Shock

I’ve seen a lot of amateur photographers shy away from using flash, claiming it to be unnatural. Their argument is that they want to take advantage of all the available natural light. I guess most say this because 1 – They don’t know how to use a flash effectively or 2 – They’ve only tried built-in flash.

I think using a flash actually lets you take advantage of ALL the natural light available. The flash just fills in the voids.

The next couple of posts will be about DIY product photography at home. I will put up a pic of the shoot setup as well. So that its clear how simple it really is!

28mm 1/250 at F8 Flash 1/32 at 35mm with Diffuser

Shot Setup:

As you can see, I’ve made use of whatever I could find around the house. One of the important things to keep in mind is not to get any reflections on the watch crystal. It should appear as if there is no glass covering the dials. The A4 sheet at the back of the subject diffuses the light and the one in front provides very even front lighting since its reflecting the diffused light. The built in flash was turned on for further fill, but diffused with a small piece of foam. The result is – no glare on the Watch crystal. The camera was at a distance of 0.43m from the subject.

P.S – I went with my matte black G Shock to suppress as much unwanted reflection as possible. Next time, I’ll try a shiny metal one.

7 thoughts on “My trials at Product Photography – Casio G Shock

  1. Thanks for sharing the setup! I’ll confess that I’m #1 — I don’t shoot flash because I don’t know how to use it properly. I’m working on correcting that, though, and appreciate the help. πŸ™‚

Your Thoughts

