Can you hang on?

I’ve been waiting.

These days when photography has become so affordable, its so easy to build a kit. But then its easier to lose sight and focus more on the reach of your zoom and the megapixels in your camera than the pictures you click. Constantly adding and changing your kit to explain for the lost opportunities. Why blame yourself when the kit you have is not perfect yet.

I like to call this the torrent syndrome. Back when VHS tapes were the norm, I remember walking to the store down the street with my dad. I would keep repeating the name of a movie – this was important. Its easy for a boy of six or seven to see something interesting on the street and completely forget what he was thinking. He wouldn’t want to reach the video store and have no clue what he wanted to watch so badly. So I would repeat the name to myself till I got to the store. The guy there was friendly. He almost always had the movie I kept murmuring to myself. We would rent it, come back home and make a night of it. It was so simple. So much fun.

Nowadays, I come home and look at the pile of movies on my laptop. Confused. I manage to select one. But its a struggle. The other names refuse to stop running though my mind. Whispering. Taunting. Perhaps I should’ve taken the other one.

One thing was for sure, whatever I choose, I wouldn’t enjoy it as much as I did the tapes from my childhood.

Now that’s irony.

There was a time not long ago, when we had to save for months to get a second lens. Everybody was happy with their camera. They didn’t strive for perfection. The megapixels didn’t matter. Only the memories did. I know someone who used a 35mm prime for the better part of ten years and managed to take some of the most stunning b&w images. These days, I don’t know anybody who’s had just one lens for over a year! And back then, the pictures we so much better. Nobody cared much about CA or MTF charts. Those days, vignetting added character. These days, it just reduces the resale!

As a rule, I would try and keep my kit small so that we get to know each other better. A good lens is like a woman. Unless you’re willing to spend some quality time with her, you never get to experience all that she has to offer. And then there has to be compromises. But it would be worth it.

I’ve used several telephoto zooms before. Several of them were the budget variety. The best so far was the Sigma 70-300 APO. But I’ve always wanted to get the 100-300 from Canon. Somehow a good copy never turned up. There are several brilliant lens in the canon lineup who come and go unnoticed. Underdogs trumped by the towering ‘L’. The 100-300 is one such lens. I loved it! After all, I have a long way to go before I can blame any lens for my bad photography.

My wait has finally paid off. Today I found my 100-300. A perfect copy. Calling it ‘used’ would be blasphemy. ‘Experienced’ would be a better title perhaps.

Hanging on has its benefits. Just ask these pegs.

100mm 1/250 at F4.5

Your Thoughts

